No one expects to be in a car accident. However, when you least expect it, a horrible accident happens.
It can be especially devastating when the accident was entirely avoidable.
It’s important to remember that when another driver causes your accident, you might be entitled to recover compensation for your losses.
Many people visit a chiropractor to treat their pain after an accident.
After multiple visits, you may wonder who pays for a chiropractor after an accident.
What to do After a Car Accident?
Injured victims may choose to visit a chiropractor after a car accident. If you visited a chiropractor after a car accident, a settlement might help you recover your expenses.
A qualified personal injury attorney can help you build a stronger compensation claim after a car accident.
There are a few important steps you can take after your accident to help you get the compensation you deserve.
Collect and Retain Evidence
If you are physically able, collect evidence at the scene of the collision immediately following the event.
Evidence supporting a car accident settlement with chiropractor expenses includes the following:
- Photographs of all vehicles involved in the crash and the surrounding area,
- Names and contact information for all involved parties,
- Insurance information of the involved parties,
- Names and contact information for witnesses,
- Photographs of your injuries,
- A police accident report, and
- A written recollection of the events.
Memories fade quickly, even after a traumatic event like a car accident. Maintaining an accurate record of the events surrounding the crash helps support your later chiropractor car accident claim.
Contact Law Enforcement
Request the presence of law enforcement officers at the scene of your accident. All reporting officers create a police accident report which provides an unbiased third-party summary of the events.
New Mexico law requires a driver to report an accident to the police if the crash results in:
- Bodily injury or death of any person, or
- More than $500 worth of property damage.
When a police officer responds to an accident, the police officer must also forward a written police report to the Department of Transportation within 24 hours of the accident.
This report provides information that might be useful to your attorney during settlement discussions.
Seek Medical Treatment
Seek medical treatment after your accident. Even if you believe you weren’t injured, many serious injuries present in the hours, days, or even weeks following an accident.
Recovering compensation requires you to connect your injuries to the collision.
Obtaining a complete diagnosis of your injuries and completing all prescribed medical therapies and treatments can help establish a connection between your injuries and the accident.
Think carefully before accepting an insurance company’s first settlement offer.
While the initial offer may sound enticing, an insurance company might not always offer the amount of compensation you truly deserve.
A personal injury attorney can negotiate with insurance companies to help you get a better settlement.
Contact an Attorney
Don’t waste time and contact an attorney promptly after an accident. It’s never too soon to discuss your options after a car accident.
An experienced personal injury attorney works to maximize your compensation, including any chiropractor car accident claim. Also, be mindful of claim filing deadlines.
The New Mexico statute of limitations for personal injury cases like car accidents gives you three years to file a claim from the date of the accident.
A failure to file within this period bars you from receiving compensatory relief after the deadline has passed.
How Is Liability Determined After a Car Accident in New Mexico?
New Mexico is an at-fault state meaning the driver who caused the accident must pay for damages. New Mexico also applies a pure comparative negligence standard to all claims.
This means a plaintiff can still recover even if they were partially at fault for an accident. However, their compensation will be reduced by their percentage of fault.
For example, even if a driver was 99% at fault for their car accident, they may still recover compensation for the 1% of the fault assigned to the other driver.
At Flores, Tawney & Acosta, P.C., we are committed to helping victims injured in car accidents.
We work relentlessly on behalf of our clients and understand you are facing one of the most challenging times in your life.
On top of physical pain, you may be stressed and anxious about your mounting medical bills, emotional trauma, and loss of work.
We know what’s at stake for our clients and provide aggressive and diligent representation to help you get the best compensation possible.
We have significant experience dealing with insurance companies and in the courtroom. We know how to negotiate to help get you the compensation you deserve, and we never shy away from a potential trial.
You receive the highest caliber legal representation when you hire the legal team at Flores, Tawney & Acosta, P.C.
Contact us today to receive a free consultation and learn more about our firm.